With Yahoo! Pulse, you can create your own identity on Yahoo! and you can connect and engage easily with the people, content and applications that matter to you on Yahoo!. You can also share updates, photos, blog posts and more with colleagues, classmates, family and friends. Yahoo! Pulse also allows you to link to third-party social network sites, so that you can keep up with what your friends are doing, all in one convenient place.
The Profile page, opened by clicking the Profile button on the Yahoo! Pulse page, is your personal page. This is where you can see and share information about yourself, see the updates that people see about you and much more.
When people visit your page in Yahoo! Pulse, they view your profile and, depending on the information that you share, see the same information about you that you see.
To create a profile, you will be required to provide your full name and a display name on the Info page. Other basic profile information includes your gender, date of birth and location – where you have options on providing no information or providing free-form information (for example, for location, you can state “The Milky Way Galaxy”, something more specific or nothing at all).
The Info page, opened by clicking the Info button on the Yahoo! Pulse page, is where you add and edit information about yourself. You may also control how this information is shared with visitors to your profile (see Information Sharing and Disclosure Policies below).
Basic information, such as your full name, display name and gender, are required to create a profile on Yahoo! Pulse. Your full name is created from your Yahoo! account. Your gender can be set to “I’d rather not say”, if you would rather not share your gender. Your display name is public and is viewable by anyone.
We suggest that you use your first name and first initial of your last name as your display name. However, you may choose to use your first and last names as your display name if you want to help your contacts find you. You may change your display name at any time.
Other basic information in your profile includes your date of birth and location. You may choose to hide your age. Your location is set to the location in your Yahoo! account and can be changed or left blank. The location displayed in your Profile and your age, if not hidden, are public and are viewable by anyone.
Yahoo! uses different sources of information to determine connection suggestions based on who you communicate with frequently, including, but not limited to:
Yahoo! Messenger: contacts on your friends list
Yahoo! Contacts: contacts in your address book
Yahoo! Mail: email header information that identifies the people to whom you send and from whom you receive emails frequently.
When you take certain actions, such as when you connect to a friend, comment on a
guest book, add information to your profile or change your photo, these actions are shared as updates that your connections and others can see, depending on your Updates settings. Manage your Updates settings.
Your full name and birthday are set to be shared with “Connections Only”, but can be hidden from view by setting to “No-One”.
Your age is set to be publicly shared, but you can choose to hide it by editing your profile information and choosing “Hide my age”.
Yahoo! is committed to helping create a safe online experience and treats information about children and teenagers differently. To find out more information, please refer to the Yahoo! Safely site for more information.
When you choose not to make an email address or Yahoo! ID searchable through People Search, it will continue to be attached to your Yahoo! Account. Other Yahoo! services may identify those email addresses with your profile.
If your profile is searchable by an email address, your email address will act as a URL for your profile. For example, if you make email@example.com a searchable email address, others who know your email address can find your profile by going directly to: http://firstname.lastname@example.org.
Depending on your Updates settings, certain actions that you perform on your profile on Yahoo! are shared as updates that your connections and others can view.
These actions include when you connect to a friend, comment on a guest book, add information to your profile or change your photo.
You can set permission regarding who can find your profile and who can see what information on your profile.
You may hide your profile. By hiding your profile, people will not be able to search for you, contact you or invite you to connect. Your profile will not be shown to others and only your display name and status message will be visible.
If you no longer want to allow your connections to share your information with third-party applications and developers, you may opt out at any time by changing your settings.
You may revoke permission that you granted to an application at any time. For the Yahoo! Application Platform, remove the application by choosing "Remove" from the application's Settings menu. For applications on third-party websites and other applications, visit your Yahoo! Account Info.
You can set the permission for sharing your updates. Your new setting for a particular type of update will apply to those future updates. Your new settings will not affect what you have shared in the past. You cannot modify settings for past updates, but you can delete past updates that are stored on the Yahoo! network.
You can manage linked websites where you have social content that you’ve chosen to link to Yahoo!. By linking with these sites, you can see your content on these sites straight from Yahoo! and can share your Yahoo! on the linked sites.
Email notifications are sent to you when actions related to your profile occur.
Please see Pulse Help if you have questions about this service.
More information on privacy and social networking is available here