1. How do I decide which Yahoo activities I “share”?
If you use Yahoo Activity and have your social setting turned “On”, you will automatically share a link to your Yahoo activity (articles you read, videos you watch, games you play, and more). Your activity is shared from those Yahoo properties identified by the Yahoo Social Bar, which shows your friends’ activity.
2. Who will see my Yahoo Activity?
Your Yahoo activity, including Yahoo articles you read, videos you watch, games you play, and more are shared with both your friends on Facebook and your Facebook friends on Yahoo.
3. How is Yahoo Activity shared?
Links to your Yahoo articles, videos, games, and more will appear in your friends’ Facebook feeds and in your Facebook feed. Your friends on Yahoo will also be able to view the Yahoo activity you share.
4. How do I find the sharing controls?
You can find your activity controls on any activity page. For example, if you are participating in Yahoo Activity, you can go to an article page on Yahoo News. On the right you will see your Facebook profile picture and “You on Yahoo News”. The “Social” control allows you to set social sharing to Off or On, and allows you to activate or deactivate your activity reminder, which can remind you each time you add to your activity.
5. Can I choose what activity to share?
Yes. If you want to read, watch, play, or engage in other activity on an activity page, but you don’t want to share that activity with your friends, you can turn sharing off prior to engaging in your activity by selecting Off from the “Social” drop-down menu under “You on Yahoo”. Remember to select On from the “Social” drop-down when you wish to resume sharing your reading activity.
6. Can I delete activity I’ve shared?
Yes. On Yahoo Activity, clicking "Your Activity" lists recent activity you are sharing with friends. You can remove any entries from this list by clicking the X button to the right of the link. This removes the article, video, or game from your Facebook and Yahoo feeds, and your friends will no longer be able to see that you have viewed it on either network.
7. How do I stop sharing my Yahoo activity?
You can turn automatic sharing off by selecting Off from the “Social” drop-down menu under “You on Yahoo”. You can find these activity controls on any activity page, such as a story on Yahoo News. When you turn social “Off”, subsequent Yahoo activity will not be shared. But, after you turn sharing off, your friends will still be able to see activity you previously shared in their Facebook newsfeeds and on Yahoo. To remove a previously shared article from these feeds, open the “Your Activity” drop-down under “You on Yahoo” and click the X next to the article. To change your social setting now, click here.
8. Can I choose to share only some types of activities (for example, share my article reading activity without sharing my video watching activity)?
You can turn sharing off at any time, and turning it off before engaging in an activity will stop that activity from being shared. Just remember to turn off your social sharing settings before watching a video, if you don’t want to share that video. Yahoo Activity does not support only selectively sharing some types of activities.
Visit Yahoo News Activity Sharing Help or any activity product help pages if you have more questions.
More information on privacy and Yahoo News is available here.