Yahoo Search
Yahoo! Profiles
Yahoo Privacy > Yahoo! Privacy Centre > Yahoo! Profiles

Yahoo! Privacy and Cookie Policy

We have detailed reference links describing our privacy practices for a wide range of Yahoo! products and services. Find them here.

Relevant Advertising

By bringing content and advertising to you that is relevant and tailored to your interests, Yahoo! provides a more compelling online experience. Our customized "smart" services save you time and cut through the clutter. Learn More about relevant advertising.

Opt-Out

Prefer not to receive advertising based on your interests? You can opt out of interest-matched advertising on Yahoo!

Yahoo! Social Bar Privacy

Please read our FAQ to learn more about Yahoo! Social Bar Privacy.

Yahoo! Profiles

Your profile on Yahoo! represents who you are and serves as a hub for your identity on Yahoo!. From it, you can connect to friends, post information about yourself, and manage your Updates.

Information Collection and Use Practices

  • To create a profile, you will need to create a display name. This is a public name you will be known as on Yahoo! services.
    • By default, we suggest you use your first name and first initial of your last name as your display name. You may use any display name you like, within reason. You may change your display name at any time.
  • You have the ability to post personal information about yourself on your profile.
    • Except for your display name, first name, and last name, all of this information is optional. By default, your first and last names are only shown to your connections.
  • Applications
    • You can grant applications made by third-party developers access to information within your profile.
      • When you do, you are granting the application and its developer complete access to all of the information within your profile. This means that the application and its developer will be able to see and store who you are and who you are connected to through profiles.
      • Applications installed by your connections will have access to the information about you that you have permitted those connections to see.
        • You may turn off the ability for your connections to share your information with applications in your profile settings.
    • More information about applications, developers, and the permissions you grant are available from a link that is provided when you install an application, or in Yahoo! Help Pages.
  • Connection Suggestions
    • Yahoo! uses different sources of information to determine connection suggestions based on who you communicate with frequently:
      • Yahoo! Messenger: contacts on your friend list
      • Yahoo! Contacts: contacts in your address book
      • Yahoo! Mail: email header information that identifies who you send and receive emails from frequently.
    • Yahoo! does not look at the content of the instant messages or emails you send or receive in order to suggest connections.
  • Updates
    • When you take certain actions, such as when you connect to a friend, comment on a guestbook, add information to your profile, or change your photo, those actions are shared as updates that your connections and others can see, depending on your Updates settings. Manage your Updates settings.

    Information Sharing and Disclosure Practices

    • The display name, display photo, gender, location, and age information you provide for your profile on Yahoo! are always public. If you prefer not to disclose this information, you may edit your profile information at any time and leave those fields blank.
    • By default, the remainder of the information on your profile is shared only with your connections; however, you may make some profile information public for anyone to view.
    • Applications
      • You can grant applications developed by third-party developers access to information within your profile.
      • When you do, you are granting the application and its developer complete access to all of the information within your profile. This means that the application and its developer will be able to see and store who you are and who you are connected to through profiles.
      • Applications installed by your connections will have access to the information about you that you have permitted those connections to see.
        • You may turn off the ability for your connections to share your information with applications in your Profile settings.
      • More information about applications, developers, and the permissions you grant are available from a link that is provided when you install an application.
    • People Search
      • Your profile may be found by others who search for you by your first name, last name, display name, or email address.
        • You may opt out from being found in People Search.
        • When you choose not to make an an email address or Yahoo! ID searchable through People Search, it will continue to be attached to your Yahoo! Account. Other Yahoo! services may identify those email addresses with your profile.
      • If your profile is searchable by an email address, your email address will act as a URL for your profile. For example, if you make free2rhyme@altavista.com a searchable email address, others who know your email address can find your profile by going directly to: http://profiles.yahoo.com/free2rhyme@altavista.com.
    • Updates
      • Certain actions you take from your profile on Yahoo! are shared as updates that your connections and others can see, depending on your Updates settings.
        • These actions include when you connect to a friend, comment on a guestbook, add information to your profile, or change your photo,
        • You can manage your Updates settings and control which updates you want to share with others.

    Your Ability to Update or Delete Information

    • Edit Your Profile
      • You can edit the content of your profile, and you can set permissions regarding who can see which information on your profile.
      • You may hide your profile. By hiding your profile, people will not be able to search for you, contact you, or invite you to connect. Your profile will not be shown to others and only your display name and status message will be visible.
    • Applications
      • If you no longer want to allow your connections to share your information with third-party applications and developers, you may opt-out at any time from the Permissions Settings within your profile on Yahoo!.
      • You may revoke permissions you granted to an application at any time. For the Yahoo! Application Platform, remove the application by choosing "Remove" from the application's Settings menu. For applications on third-party websites and other applications, visit your Yahoo! Account Info.
    • People Search
      • Although you may choose not make an email address or Yahoo! ID searchable through People Search, it will continue to be attached to your Yahoo! Account. Other Yahoo! services may identify those email addresses with your profile.
    • Notifications
      • Email notifications are sent to you when actions related to your profile occur.
      • You may turn off these notifications at any time.
      • Manage which email address your notifications are sent to.

    Other

    This page describes current Yahoo! practices with respect to this particular service. This information may change as Yahoo! revises this service by adding or removing features or using different service providers. To find out how Yahoo! treats your personal information, please visit our Privacy Policy.

Copyright © 2014 Yahoo! All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Service